Annual Awards Celebration

Friday, April 28, 2017, 12:00 Noon

Click Here For Tickets:

2017 Winners

Clarine Spetzler Guardian Angel: Leah Russell

Department of Social Services: Danita Tucker, Roanoke County DSS

Legal/Judicial: Sarah Akers Campbell, Radford Commonwealth Attorney’s Office

Mental Health Professional – Jennifer Nolley, Family Services of Roanoke Valley

Foster Parent(s): Eric & Chastity Labiosa, Craig County

Law Enforcement: Trista Wallace, Roanoke City Police Department

Medical Professional: Amy Kageals, Carilion Clinic

Judge Philip Trompeter CASA Volunteer of the Year: Carol Haas

Educator: Hayley Poland, Roanoke City Public Schools


The Golden Halo Awards were created in 2008 to recognize and honor outstanding contributions to the cause of child abuse prevention, intervention and advocacy in the Roanoke Valley. Nominees must have distinguished themselves clearly in one of the following categories: Child Protective Services, Law Enforcement, Legal/Judicial, Medical Professional, Mental Health Professional, Community Volunteer, Foster Parent, or Educator. Named sponsor opportunities are available for Presenting, Platinum, Gold, Halo, Guardian Angel, and Corporate Sponsors.

 Golden Halo Alums

1st Annual Celebration WinnersLynette Jobe ~ Child Protective Services; Det. Adam Thompson ~ Law Enforcement; Robin Dearing, Esq. ~ Legal/Judicial; Melissa Harper ~ Medical Professional; Pat Davidson, LCSW ~ Mental Health Professional; Helen Dean ~ Community Volunteer; Todd Marcum & Tony Pearman ~ Special Award

2nd Annual Celebration Winners Amy Ferguson ~ Child Protective Services; Det. April McCadden & Det. Holly Willoughby ~ Law Enforcement Team; Heather Ferguson, Esq. ~ Legal/Judicial; Candice Carroll ~ Medical Professional; Karen Bailey ~ Mental Health Professional; In Memory of Sarah Ellis Floyd ~ Community Volunteer; Jenny Basham ~ Educator; Michelle Yopp ~ Foster Parent

3rd Annual Celebration Winners Sue Goad ~ Child Protective Services; Det. Stacey Sheppard ~ Law Enforcement; Alice Ekirch ~ Legal/Judicial; Vanessa Freville, CPNP ~ Medical Professional; Stephanie Pratola, PH.D. ~ Mental Health Professional; Fenton (Spike) Harrison ~ Community Volunteer; Rick Ramsuer ~ Foster Parent; Lisa Childress ~ Educator; Clarine Spetzler ~ Guardian Angel/Special Award

4th Annual Celebration Winners Tony Pearman ~ Guardian Angel/Special Award; Michele Dowdy ~ Educator; Mary Ellen Verdu ~ Community Volunteer; David & Stephanie Jones ~ Foster Parents; Diane Kelly ~ Mental Health Professional; Dr. Don Kees ~ Medical Professional; Katrina Johnson ~ Legal/Judicial; Robin Freeman ~ Child Protective Services; Det. Neil Gardner ~ Law Enforcement

5th Annual Celebration Winners: Judge Philip Trompeter; Guardian Angel ~ Tasha Eaton; Foster Parent Heather Ferguson; Legal/Judicial ~ Elizabeth Gray; Community Volunteer ~ Karen Pendleton; Educator ~ Amy Tharp, MD; Medical Professional ~ Rebecca Farrell, Ph.D.; Mental Health Professional ~ Norma & Jimmy Powers; Foster Parents ~ Robin Salo; Child Protective Services ~ Asst. Chief Terrell Holbrook; Law Enforcement

6th Annual Celebration Winners: Ellen Weinman; Guardian Angel ~ Michael and Shirley Bryant; Foster Parents ~ Brian Holohan; Legal/Judicial ~ Judy Barger; Community Volunteer ~ Dr. Rita Bishop; Educator ~ April Bennett; Medical Professional ~ Susan Owens; Mental Health Professional ~ Shannon Brabham; Child Protective Services ~ Eric Woods; Law Enforcement

7th Annual Celebration Winners: The Honorable Joseph M. Clarke II; Guardian Angel ~ Bob and Carol Cornish; Foster Parents ~ Chris Rehak; Legal/Judicial ~ Mary Dykstra; Community Volunteer ~Decca Knight; Educator ~ Dr. Camron Johnson; Medical Professional ~ Pat Davidson; Mental Health Professional ~ Grace McCown; Child Protective Services ~ Eric Snow; Law Enforcement

8th Annual Celebration Winners: WDBJ7, Childhood Lost News Team; Clarine Spetzler Guardian Angel ~ Jim and Lisa Agnes; Foster Parents ~ Alice Ekirch; Legal/Judicial ~ Dodi Lawson; CASA Volunteer ~ Lisa Denny; Educator ~ Alice Ackerman; Medical ~ Jennifer Thomas; Mental Health ~ Marty Harmon; Department of Social Services ~ Carla Cross; Law Enforcement

Winners have clearly demonstrated: Commitment – The winner will have demonstrated a clear and prolonged commitment to the cause of child abuse prevention, intervention and advocacy. Service – The winner will have shown a consistent, high degree of service to his or her profession or volunteer work. Accomplishment – The winner will be a distinguished candidate. Please submit your nominations for candidates about whose work and accomplishments you have personal knowledge.